Share this:

" />
Published On: Tue, Jul 18th, 2017

Bharat Arun appointment as bowling coach in place of Zaheer Khan :BCCI

Share This

HCA-may-appoint-coach-Arun-as-HCAE-director-1024x683MUMBAI : BCCI today formally announced the appointment of Bharat Arun as bowling coach in place of Zaheer Khan, whose name was recommended as the bowling coach by the Cricket Advisory Committee. Amitabh Choudhary, BCCI Joint Secretary, said that since Ravi Shashtri has been appointed as the head coach, he has all rights to pick his own core team.  Arun has been given the responsibility till next World Cup.
Meanwhile, at the press conference, Ravi Shastri dismissed that the U-turn by the BCCI will cause any heartburn in Zaheer Kahn and Rahul Dravid who was appointed as batting coach by the CAC consisting Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman and Sourav Ganguly.”I have spoke to both …they are fantastic cricketers…their inputs will be considered …there is no issue,” Shastri said.

Speaking at a press conference, BCCI joint secretary Amitabh Choudhary informed the mediapersons about the new support staff of the team under Ravi Shastri. Choudhary said that while Arun has been given a full-time role with the team until the closure of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, Sanjay Bangar will continue to serve as the assistant coach of the Indian team.

The four-member panel comprising Committee of Administrators (CoA) member Diana Edulji, CEO Rahul Johri, acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary and acting president CK Khanna, met in Mumbai this afternoon to pick the support staff.

After being appointed as the head coach recently, Shastri put forth the name of Arun for the position of bowling coach. It didn’t come as a surprise as the duo had previously worked together during Shastri’s two-year long stint as the Team Director of the national squad.
When asked about the roles of Rahul Dravid and Zaheer Khan, both Choudhary and Shastri said that their inputs will be valuable.


About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>