Several Congress ministers fail to make it to new Lok Sabha

cainetNEW DELHI : Union ministers including Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde and Law Minister Kapil Sibal were among senior party members who lost the election in the worst performance by Congress in a Lok Sabha election.Shinde, who was also Leader of the House in the Lok Sabha, lost to BJP’s Sharad Bansode from Sholapur in Maharashtra.
Sibal, who is also communications and IT minister, lost to Bharatiya Janata Party’s Harsh Vardhan from Chandni Chowk constituency in Delhi and finished third.Other cabinet ministers who lost included Health and Family Welfare Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad (Udhampur – jammu and Kashmir), Science and Technology Minister S.Jaipal Reddy (Mahabubnagar – Andhra Pradesh), Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation minister Girija Vyas (Chittorgarh – Rajasthan), Coal Minister Sri Prakash Jaiswal (Kanpur), External Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid (Farrukhabad – Uttar Pradesh), Tribal Affairs Minister V. Kishore Chandra Deo (Araku), Steel Minister Beni Prasad Verma (Gonda – Uttar Pradesh) and Human Resource Development Minister M. M. Pallam Raju (Kakinada – Andhra Pradesh).
Other cabinet ministers who lost included Culture Minister Chandresh Kumari Katoch (Jodhpur).Minster of State in PMO V.Narayanasamy also lost from Puducherry.Minister of State for Home R.P.N. Singh (Kushi Nagar – Uttar Pradesh), Minister of State for Human Resource Development Jitin Prasada (Dhaurahra – Uttar Pradesh), Minister of State for External Affairs Preneet Kaur (Patiala), Minister of State for Communication and IT Milind Deora (Mumbai South), Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Ranee Narah (Lakhimpur – Assam), and Minister of State for Urban Development Deepa Dasmunsi (Raigunj – West Bengal) also lost.
Women and Children Development Minister Krishna Tirath (Delhi North West), Corporate Affairs Minister Sachin Pilot (Ajmer) and Youth Affairs Minister Jitendra Singh (Alwar) also lost their seats.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *