CM Yogi Adityanath keeps Home; Maurya gets PWD, Dinesh Sharma Education

580423-upcms700LUCKNOW : Yogi Adityanath on Wednesday announced portfolios of his ministers with Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister keeping Home with himself.  As for Deputy CMs, Keshav Prasad Maurya has been given public works department, food processing, entertainment tax and public enterprises department and public enterprises and Dinesh Sharma higher and secondary education.

The important finance ministry has been awarded to Rajesh Aggarwal. On the other hand, Swami Prasad Maurya has been allocated cooperative ministry, Suresh Khanna parliamentary affairs, Siddharth Nath Singh health, Chetan Chauhan sports, Surya Pratap Shahi agriculture, Swati Singh women and child development, Mohsin Raza science and technology, electronics, IT, minority affairs and Muslim Waqf and Haj, Shrikant Sharma power ministry, and Jai Prakash Singh excise.

Yesterday, the UP CM had met Prime Minister Narendra Modi and is understood to have finalised allocation of portfolios among the state ministers during talks with BJP chief Amit Shah. On his first visit to the national capital after taking oath on Sunday, he had also met top Union ministers, including Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Home Minister Rajnath Singh.
Yogi took over as 21st CM of the country’s largest state on Sunday and had vowed to pursue the agenda of ‘sabka sath, sabka vikas’.
He is the five-time MP and the BJP’s fourth CM of UP. Interestingly, the CM and his two deputies are not members of either House of the UP legislature.
Driven by the ‘Modi wave’, the BJP stormed to power in UP after 14 years on March 11, securing a three-fourths majority and demolishing rivals SP-Congress alliance and BSP in a keenly-contested Assembly polls.
The BJP got 312 seats in the 403-member Assembly. Its allies Apna Dal(S) and SBSP bagged nine seats and four seats, respectively, taking the total tally of the combine to 325.On the other hand, the SP won 47 seats while its ally the Congress got 7 seats.The BSP won just 19 seats, finishing a dismal third.
(With PTI inputs)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *