BJP to retain power in MP

Bhopal: Fresh updates from the poll-bound Madhya Pradesh have confirmed that the state has voted majorly for the saffron party BJP. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has been elected to run the governance again. BJP has won a total of 162 seats out of the 230-seat assembly thereby staking majority. Meanwhile, congress is leading with 30 seats. The total number of seats won by Congress is 61, which leads to its failure to form a government for the fourth time. Other political parties and independent candidates have secured a total of 7 seats in the last counting.  Poll details from  Madhya Pradesh indicate Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan in the lead as BJP wins 52 seats taking the party’s count to a whopping 157 seats in the 230-seat assembly.

Meanwhile, Congress has bagged 15 seats in the latest counting, taking the figures to a dismal 65. Congress has not managed to come to power in the state in the last thrree general assembly elections. While, independent and small parties have registered remaining eight seats in different constituencies.

* The BJP has won a landslide third time victory in Madhya Pradesh, with Shivraj Singh Chauhan elected as the Chief Minister of the state. Voters chose to vote for BJP in large numbers to prevent any other party from coming into power in the critical assembly elections of 2013.

* Meanwhile, the three-time elected CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan addressed a press conference in Bhopal and said,  “People of MP have showered their love and blessings to BJP for the 3rd time, I am highly grateful to them.”

* As per the reports, BJP is leading with 152 seats in the 230-seat assembly while Congress is at 66 and remaining 12 are secured by other parties.

* The factor that worked for BJP was pro-incumbency factor ands Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan defeated his Congress rival Shashank Bhargava in Vidisha.

* The ruling Chief Minister is also leading in Budhni Assembly constituency by 12,777 votes over his Congress rival Mahendra Singh Chouhan.

* Many senior BJP ministers such as Babulal Gaur, Kailash Vijaywargiya, Vijay Shah, Uma Shankar Gupta, Jagdish Devda and Archana Chitnis are leading while Public Relations and Culture Minister Laxmikant Sharma and Anoop Mishra are trailing.

* But, the Leader of Opposition in the State Assembly, Ajay Singh is leading by a margin of 6120 votes from his traditional Churhat constituency.

* Currently, the ruling BJP has comfortably crossed the half-way mark as it is ahead in 152 seats and look set to form government here. The party has won 28 seats, while Congress has claimed nine seats till now. The Congress has been out of power in the state since it lost elections in December 2003.

* BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi congratulated Shivraj Singh Chouhan for BJP’s performance in the Assembly Elections.

* The vote count for 230-seat assembly started across 51 districts at 8 am and the Madhya Pradesh witnessed a record voter turnout of 70 percent when nearly 4 crore 65 lakh voters exercised their power to bring BJP to power.

* The BJP had come to power in the state in 2003, winning 173 seats, while Congress could manage only 38. BJP also secured a second straight term in 2008 pocketing 143 seats, while Congress got 71 while other parties got  13 seats.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *