Share this:

" />
Published On: Fri, Aug 14th, 2020

‘Winning trust vote a message to forces trying to topple govts’: CM Ashok Gehlot

Share This

Rajasthan 2JAIPUR : Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot-led Congress government in Rajasthan won the vote of confidence in the Legislative Assembly on Friday. It was not immediately clear votes of how many members did Gehlot’s government garner in the House. The ruling Congress has 107 MLAs in the 200-member Legislative Assembly. The BJP has 72.
After the trust vote, former deputy chief minister Sachin Pilot said that the vote of confidence was passed with a “very good majority.
Putting an end to the month-long political impasse, Sachin Pilot, the expelled deputy CM reunited with the party on Monday, and the Ashok Gehlot government, which was confident of a majority throughout the crisis, is no longer counting numbers in the House.
While the Bharatiya Janata Party decided to move a no-confidence motion, Congress proved its strength in the House and won the vote of confidence to prove its majority. The BSP had asked six of its MLAs to vote against the Congress in case of a no-confidence motion.
“Despite various attempts by the opposition, the result is in favour of the government,” Pilot said. “This has put a full stop on all suspicions that were rising. A road map has been prepared for all the issues that were being raised. I have complete faith, that roadmap will be announced timely,” Pilot added.
Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot told reporters that winning the trust vote in the Rajasthan Assembly was a message to those forces who try to destabilise elected governments in the country.
The Chief Minister won the vote of confidence in the assembly a month after a stalemate between him and the then deputy chief minister Sachin Pilot sparked a massive political crisis in the state. “It is the people’s unwavering trust in us and the unity of our Congress MLAs that has brought this victory.

There is a wave of happiness in the entire state. The BJP’s conspiracy has failed in Rajasthan. I consider it a win for the people of Rajasthan. Now we have to work together to fight Covid-19,” Gehlot said after winning the confidence motion in the Assembly.
He added that the way in which the Bharatiya Janata Party had conspired to topple elected governments in Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Goa, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh, “they applied the same technique in Rajasthan, but they have been exposed”. Sachin Pilot too expressed happiness after the Congress government retained power in the state.

Ashok Gehlot questions ‘misuse’ of ED, CBI and I-T
CM Ashok Gehlot on Friday questioned the veracity of investigating agencies such as the Enforcement Directorate, the Central Bureau of Investigation and the Income Tax department.
Sachin Pilot on Friday said that the vote of confidence brought by the government was passed with a very good majority in the Assembly, and despite various attempts by the Opposition, the result came in favour of the government. “This has put a full stop on all suspicions that were rising.
It is not important where one sits, but what is in the hearts and minds of people. As far as the seating pattern is considered, it is decided by speaker & party and I don’t want to comment on it,” Pilot said.
Sachin Pilot made a resounding speech in the state Assembly, calling himself a “warrior” who has been sent to the edge of the ruling camp to save the government. “I was safe on the seat I used to sit on earlier.
Then I thought ‘why have I been allotted a different seat?’. I saw that this is the border – the ruling party on one side, opposition on other. Who is sent to border? The strongest warrior. Be it me or any friend of mine, we consulted the ‘doctor’ and all 125 of us are standing in the House today after ‘treatment’… There may be bombardment at this border but we will be the Armour and keep it everything safe,” Pilot told the Assembly.
(With Bureau Report).




About the Author'

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>