Share this:

" />
Published On: Wed, Jul 19th, 2017

T.R. Zeliang is the new Chief Minister of Nagaland

Share This

57236839.cmsKOHIMA : Nagaland by Governor P.B. Acharya on July 19, 2017 appointed T.R. Zeliang as the new Chief Minister of the State. Mr. Zeliang has been asked to prove his majority on the floor of the House on or before July 22, 2017. Mr. Zeliang will be sworn in at 3 p.m. on July 19, 2017, Raj Bhavan sources said.

Earlier in the day the incumbent Shurhozelie Liezietsu and his supporters failed to turn up in the Assembly to face the floor test following which the House was adjourned sine die.Mr. Acharya on July 18, 2017 directed Speaker Imtiwapang to summon an emergent special session of the assembly at 9.30 a.m. for the Chief Minister to seek confidence vote.
Mr. Zeliang, leader of the rebel Nagaland Peoples Front MLAs, was present in the House along with his followers.The motion to prove the majority of the Chief Minister could not be taken up as he was not present and the House was adjourned sine die, Mr. Imtiwapang said. The Speaker said, he will report the proceedings of the House to the Governor.
Efforts to contact legislators of the Liezietsu camp turned futile as they did not take calls.


About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>