Blow to TDP as four MLAs, MLC join TRS

hyd_2145846fHYDERABAD: In a major setback to the Telugu Desam Party in Telangana, four of its MLAs and an MLC have decided to cross over to the Telangana Rashtra Samiti on Thursday morning.Former Minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav (Sanatnagar), Teegala Krishna Reddy (Maheswaram), Prakash Goud (Rajendranagar) and Ch.Dharma Reddy (Parkal) and MLC Gangadhar Goud met Chief Minister K.Chandrasekhar Rao at the camp office.
Emerging from the meeting, they said they decided to quit the TDP and join the TRS only to help achieve the goal of ‘Bangaru Telangana’ (golden State). Ending weeks of suspense, the TDP legislators visit to Camp office was dramatic. Media was alerted minutes before the meeting and asked to rush to the Camp office.
The four legislators and the MLC, sources said would be joining the TRS officially in a week at a public meeting to be organised by the TRS. Though they intended to announce their joining the TRS, the formal announcement was kept pending. It was indicated that some more TDP legislators from Telangana could join the TRS shortly.
In the house of 119 in Telangana Assembly, TDP had won 15 seats and with the latest development, its number woould dwindle to 11. In the last few weeks, a number of Congress, TDP and the YSR Congress party MLAs have switched their loyalties forcing their legislature parties to file disqualification petitions with the Speaker.
Mr. Srinivas Yadav regretted that the TDP President and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, was goading them to undertake a ‘Bus Yatra’ protesting against the inefficiency of the TRS Government. “We know that the Krishnapatnam Thermal Power Station is ready for inauguration, but it appears that Mr. Naidu does not want it to be commissioned right away simply because he would then have to give 54 per cent of the power generated to Telangana,” he charged.
Mr. Yadav also referred to Mr. Naidu naming his son Lokesh to lead the party in Telangana. “He wants to make it look as if there is no TDP leadership in the new State. All this makes us feel bad and after decades of being with the TDP, we are disillusioned. We are confident Mr. Chandrasekhar Rao’s intention in transforming the fledgling State and take it to the pinnacle of development and hence we decided to throw in our lot,” he stated.
Mr. Krishna Reddy regretted that 33 years of his work with the TDP was not considered by the party chief. “We are sons of Telangana and we feel it is time we quit the TDP and join hands with a leader who is sincere about giving the new State an identity of its own, apart from safeguarding the self-respect of the people of Telangana. We will strive to take Hyderabad into the big league as internationally-known city.
Mr. Gangadhar Goud said that as the TDP’s district president, he was witness to a change in morale of the party, especially against the outlook of Mr. Naidu. “Às natives of Telangana State, we are left with no alternative but to join hands with the TRS and work for development,” he declared.
When asked about when they would officially join the TRS, Mr. Srinivas Yadav said it would be known later and to a question about whether more legislators from the TDP were set to fly the coop, he declined to reply.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *