KCR Party BRS to vote against Delhi ordinance, numbers game tight

NEW DELHI : The Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSRCP, which is not a part of the NDA, has decided to back the Modi government on Delhi Bill after lending support to the government on No-Confidence Motion. It has 9 members in the Lok Sabha. In the given scenario, it looks like a comfortable win for the BJP.While,

Ending ambiguity over its stance on the controversial National Capital Territory Amendment Bill, the KCR-led Bharat Rashtra Samithi on Saturday said it will oppose it if it comes up for voting in Parliament. The BRS is not part of the Opposition alliance INDIA and has kept its cards close to its chest. Its position will come as a boost to the Opposition bloc, which is looking to garner support from all parties to defeat the BJP in Rajya Sabha in the numbers game. The Centre’s bill aimed at controlling services in Delhi appears set to pass both houses of parliament, with support from the YSR Congress Party led by Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy in Andhra Pradesh.
The Union cabinet on Tuesday had cleared the Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill, 2023, to replace, during the ongoing monsoon session of Parliament, an ordinance that hands control of the national capital’s bureaucratic machinery to the Centre. Officials aware of the matter indicated that the bill will be introduced in the Rajya Sabha in the coming week.
The YSR Congress Party, with its significant representation of nine members in Rajya Sabha and 22 in Lok Sabha, has a history of backing the BJP-led government on crucial legislative matters. This support is likely to help the government easily pass the controversial Delhi bill through the Upper House, where it does not have a majority. The bill seeks to replace an ordinance that enabled the Centre to assert control over Delhi’s bureaucrats, overriding a Supreme Court ruling that favored the elected government’s authority in transfers and appointments.
Meanwhile, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has approached almost all the Opposition parties to back them against the BJP. It has 10 members in the House. A look at the party-wise seat share: Congress 30, Trinamool 13, DMK 10, RJD 06, JDU 05, CPM 05, SP 03, NCP 03, SHS (UBT) 03, JMM 02, CPI 02, IUML 01, RLD 01, MDMK 01, KCM 01, AGM 01, Independent 01.
The KCR-led Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), which is not a part of the INDIA bloc, has decided to back the AAP on Delhi Bill. It has 7 members in the Rajya Sabha.The Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) bill replaces an ordinance for the control of Delhi’s bureaucrats, which was issued by the Centre to override a Supreme Court order that said the elected government in Delhi, not the Centre, has control over the transfer and appointments of bureaucrats
The Bill must be supported by at least 120 members of the House in order to be passed. While the total strength of the Rajya Sabha is 245, effective seats are 238 and vacant seats are only 7. In such a scenario, let’s have a look at who stands where: NDA: 106 – BJP 93, AIADMK 04, AGP 01, UPPL 01, MNF 01, NPP 01, RPI (A) 01, PMK 01, TMC (M) 01, Independent 01 and NCP (Ajit Pawar) 01.
However, there are prominent fence sitters also, including the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) who have not made their stand clear till now. BJD 09, TDP 01, BSP 01, JDS 01, SDF 01 along with 5 nominated members.
(Bureau Report with Media Inputs).


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *