PUSU polls 2019: JAP, RJD end Saffron ABVP dominance

_1575531131PATNA: Former MP Pappu Yadav’s Jan Adhikar Party (JAP) student wing won two of the five central panel posts of the Patna University Students’ Union (PUSU), including that of president, while Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and All India Students’ Association (AISA) won one each, ending the domination of BJP’s student wing Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) in the last two elections. The results were announced early morning on Sunday.
In 2017, when election was held after a gap of five years, ABVP had dominated, winning all the five central panel posts, while in 2018 JD-U’s student wing candidates won the post of president and treasurer, while ABVP won the rest three. In 2018, JD-U’s vice president Prashant Kishor had actively worked in PUSU polls and even courted controversy. BJP had also protested against his involvement in the polls.
This year, however, ABVP’s drubbing, which performed badly in the colleges also, winning just four of the 25 seats of councilors, will give BJP a lot to ponder. For the president post, the contest was between the JAP and the RJD student wings. RJD was in strong contest on al other seats. JD-U could also win just one of seats of councilors from Vanijya Mahavidyalay. Seven independent candidates won as councilors.
JAP’s emergence is largely seen a result of Pappu Yadav’s continued work with the students in Patna, especially during the severe waterlogging in the state capital few months ago.
JAP was in alliance with the All India Students’ Federation (AISF) this time. Happy with the result, Pappu Yadav reached PU early morning to congratulate the winners. Last year, JAP had made entry in the PUSU polls, but could not win any seat even of councilors.

The PUSU election was held on Saturday, December 7 amid three-layered security put in place by the university administration. As per a previous announcement by Patna University Vice-Chancellor Rash Bihari Prasad Singh, the polling began at 8 am and continued till 2 pm. Counting of votes started at around 4 pm and the results were declared shortly after all votes were counted.
Thousands of students from several colleges affiliated to the Patna University – Patna College, BN College, Patna Women’s College, Science College, Darbhanga House etc – voted in the 2019 PUSU election at various polling centres made by the University administration.
This time, nearly 22 thousand students had registered to vote in the PUSU election. The presidential debate was held on December 5, two days ahead of the 2019 PUSU election.
Elections in PU have always generated a lot of interest, for it has thrown top leaderships for the state in the form of chief minister Nitish Kumar, RJD chief Lalu Prasad, Deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi, union ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad and Ashwini Kuamr Choubey, Congress leader Anil Sharma to name a few.
(With Agency Inputs ).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *