Share this:

" />
Published On: Tue, Jun 2nd, 2020

Manoj Tiwari removed as Delhi BJP President, Aadesh Gupta named new party chief

Share This

Manoj-TiwariNEW DELHI : The BJP has removed Manoj Tiwari as its Delhi unit president. The party has replaced the actor-turned-politician with Aadesh Gupta.
The Bharatiya Janata Party has appointed Adesh Kumar Gupta as the chief of the party’s Delhi unit. He will replace actor-turned-politician Manoj Tiwari. Gupta is former North Delhi Municipal Corporation mayor.
A statement from the party said, “BJP national president Jagat Prakash Nadda has appointed Aadesh Kumar Gupta as the president of Delhi unit of the BJP. This appointment will be with immediate effect.”
Manoj Tiwari had joined the BJP in 2009. He won both 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections on a BJP ticket from Northeast Delhi parliamentary seat. Though he led the party to a stunning victory in the MCD elections, he failed to deliver results in the Assembly elections in Delhi held in February this year. The BJP had won just 8 of the 70 Assembly sets. Tiwari is a Lok Sabha MP from North East Delhi seat.
Tiwari tweeted that he was thankful to the BJP leadership for showing faith in him and assured that he will continue to serve the party as a worker. Thanking the people of Delhi, he said, “I am thankful to the BJP workers and people of Delhi for their love and affection that they showed in the last 3.6 years.”
He also congratulated Gupta for his new role and hoped that he will take the party to new heights. “Many congratulations to the new Delhi BJP chief Adesh Gupta,” Tiwari added.
Tiwari, a popular singer-actor from Bhojpuri film industry, was recently embroiled in a controversy after he violated lockdown norms to play cricket at an academy in Haryana.amidst coronavirus pandemic. The AAP had termed his action insensitive, particularly at a time when millions of Indians were suffering due to the nationwide lockdown.







About the Author'

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>