Share this:

" />
Published On: Mon, Feb 19th, 2018

Gujarat Civic Body Elections, Leads For BJP…

Share This

gujarat-civic-poll-results-650_650x400_41519032093AHMEDABAD : The results for the civic elections in Gujarat, which were held on Saturday, were declared on Monday. While the initial trends showed a neck-and-neck contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress, the picture got clearer when all trends came in.
The trends for all 75 municipalities showed the BJP leading in 43 while the Congress was ahead in 25 seats. Interestingly, there has been a tie in three municipalities.
Though the BJP has emerged victorious in the civic polls, its numbers have gone down since the last elections wherein it won 59 of the 75 municipalities in Gujarat. The Congress tally stood at 16 in the last elections, and the party has gained more than 8 seats this time.
While the trends are out on all the seats, results for just 11 seats have been declared so far, with the BJP winning seven and the Congress winning four.
# The municipalities where the BJP has either won or leading are Jafrabad, Vadnagar, Jasdan, Vijaynagar, Sanand, Talaja, Halvad, Bantva, Kodinar, Lathi, Kheralu, Karamsad, Songadh, Bavla, Mansa, Dwarka, Bhanvad, Kutiyana, Chalala, Gadhada, Idar, Prantij, Jamjodhpur, Dhrol, Chhaya, Bilimora, Gariyadhar, Sihor and Lathi.

# The BJP won 27 out of 28 seats at Vadnagar municipality in Gujarat’s Mehsana district. Vadnagar is the hometown of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
# The BJP has retained power in Rajkot district’s Jasdan municipality by bagging 23 of the 28 seats. In 2013, the BJP had won 20 seats in Jasdan municipality. Notably, the Congress had from the seat in the recently concluded Gujarat Assembly elections.

# The Congress party performed well in Rajula municipality in Amreli district with victory in 27 out of 28 seats. The municipality falls in Rajula Assembly constituency, which was won by the Congress in the Assembly polls.
# The Congress also managed to snatch Salaya municipality in Devbhumi Dwarka district from the BJP.

# The Congress won Manavdar municipality in Junagarh district by bagging 15 seats. The BJP managed to win 12 seats.
# In Ahmedabad, the Congress won 13 while the BJP managed to bag just nine seats out of the 28 seats in Dhandhuka municipality.

# In the Pardi municipality, there was a tie with both the Congress and the BJP winning 14 seats each. There was another tie in Vanthali municipality in Junagadh district with both the parties bagging 12 seats each.
The elections were held on Saturday for 75 Nagar Palikas (municipalities), two district panchayats, 17 talukas and 1400 village panchayats on Saturday. Dahod had recorded the highest voter turnout of 76.67 per cent while Rajkot had the lowest turnout of 50.17 per cent.zeenews.


About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>