Draupadi Murmu sworn in as India’s President

NEW DELHI : Newly elected President Draupadi Murmu was sworn in as the country’s top constitutional post. She w was sworn in as the country’s 15th president in the central hall of the parliament. Murmu was accompanied by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu, and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla to the central hall.
The national anthem was played in the central hall as soon as Draupadi Murmu reached the central hall. Draupadi Murmu took oath in the presence of Chief Justice of India NV Raman. Watch the full video to know more.#oathceremony #DraupadiMurmu #presidentopoooo
Draupadi Murmu from Odisha was sworn in as the 15th President of India . She was administered the oath of office by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana at an event held at central hall of parliament.  As the 64-year-old tribal leader assumed the top constitutional post, here is a look at the salary and other benefits she is entitled to as the first citizen of the country.
I have been elected during an important time when the country is marking 75 years of Independence, she noted. “Reaching this office is not my personal achievement but that of all the poor people in the country,” Murmu said. “My election is proof of the fact that in India, the poor can dream and also fulfil those dreams,” she said. It is the power of India’s democracy that a girl born in a poor tribal home could reach the topmost constitutional post, Murmu added.
In her speech, the President stressed on speeding up efforts to meet the expectations that the freedom fighters had from the citizens of independent India.  Outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Members of the Council of Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, heads of diplomatic missions, MPs and principal civil and military officers attended the oath ceremony.
Ahead of the swearing-in ceremony, Murmu paid floral tributes at the memorial of Mahatma Gandhi in Raj Ghat on Monday morning. Murmu got 6,76,803 votes against Sinha’s 3,80,177 votes. She will be the first President to be born after independence and is the youngest to occupy the top post. She is also the second woman to become the President.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *