Share this:

" />
Published On: Sun, Nov 12th, 2017

Chitrakoot By-election: Big Win For Congress Shot Ahead of 2018 Polls

Share This

637923-448513-flagscongressBHOPAL : In a big boost for the Congress in Madhya Pradesh, its candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi won the by-election for the Chitrakoot assembly seat by over 14,000 votes on Sunday. The seat, a Congress stronghold, had fallen vacant after the death of MLA Prem Singh earlier this year. Chaturvedi took an early lead as counting started at 8am. He never looked back and relegated BJP’s Shankar Dayal Tripathi to a distant second.
Heir to an influential landlord family of Chitrakoot, he consolidated his margin in later phases and BJP had to accept defeat even before the counting concluded. Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi defeated his nearest rival Bharatiya Janata Party’s Shankar Dayal Tripathi. Chaturvedi polled 66,810 votes as against Tripathi’s 52,677 votes.
Chaturvedi led right from the start of vote count at 8 am and kept increasing his winning lead, Election Commission officials said. He was declared the winner after 19 rounds of counting. The election was called after the death of Chitrakoot’s Congress legislator Prem Singh. A total of 12 candidates were in the fray including nine independents.
Reacting to the victory, Congress’s chief spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala said it shows the “winds of change” blowing in the political landscape in the country. Taking to Twitter, he thanked the voters for reposing faith in the party. “The winds of change are in the air. Many thanks to the people of #Chitrakoot for their faith and trust in the Congress party,” Surjewala said.(With Agency Inputs ).


About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>