Share this:

" />
Published On: Sun, May 12th, 2019

63.3% Voting for 6th phase of LS elections

Share This

Polling-960x540NEW DELHI :The EC in a press conference confirms that the average turnout across the constituencies, which went to the polls today, was 63.3 per cent. According to the poll body, 590 fake news cases were also reported and Rs 3415 crore was seized by 1590 live squads and 1497 surveillance teams.
On a day that saw several A-listers of the political world troop to polling booths in Delhi and six other states, Congress leader and Bhopal candidate Digvijaya Singh missed out on voting. Singh, who is up against BJP candidate and Malegaon blasts accused Pragya Thakur, said he will get himself registered to vote in Bhopal the next time. He is currently registered to vote in Madhya Pradesh’s Rajgarh.
The sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections started across 59 constituencies in six states and the NCT of Delhi on Sunday at 7 am. While voting in the seven seats of Delhi has been fairly peaceful , polling in West Bengal was once again marred by scattered incidents of violence.
However, a decent voting percentage was recorded in all the six states that went to polls today including Uttar Pradesh (14 seats), Haryana (10 seats), Bihar (8 seats), Madhya Pradesh (8 seats) and Jharkhand (4 sears) till 2 pm. In comparison, the voter turnout in Uttar Pradesh has been low.
Polling took place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh; all 10 seats in Haryana; eight each in West Bengal, Bihar and Madhya Pradesh; all seven in Delhi and four in Jharkhand. Prominent candidates in this phase include Union Ministers – Radha Mohan Singh, Harsh Vardhan, Maneka Gandhi, Narendra Singh Tomar and Rao Inderjit Singh.
The fate of cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir, Delhi BJP President Manoj Tiwari, Congress leaders – Sheila Dikshit, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, Digvijaya Singh and Bhupinder Singh Hooda, boxer Vijender Singh, and SP President Akhilesh Yadav are being decided in this phase
Campaigning for phase 6 of the Lok Sabha election 2019 ended on Friday evening.The Lok Sabha election 2019 results will be declared on May 23.
Violence in Bengal and allegations of malfunctioning electronic voting machines in Delhi marked the sixth round of election, which took place for 59 seats across seven states.
The national capital recorded 56.11 per cent per cent polling till
In Delhi, the Congress, the BJP and Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party are in the race for the seven Lok Sabha seats, with former-chief minister Sheila Dikshit, Union Minister Harshvardhan, former Olympian boxer Vijender Singh and cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir among key candidates.
In Bengal — where the BJP has set itself a target of 23 of the state’s 42 seats — violence was reported from Midnapore, where former IPS officer Bharati Ghosh (Former IPS officer) is taking on Trinamool Congress’s sitting lawmaker, actor Dev. She was attacked, heckled and pushed to the ground at a polling station.

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, who walked to the polling booth at the high-profile New Delhi Parliamentary constituency, said after voting: “It was a good fight. Narendra Modi used hatred and I used love. And I think love will triumph. The people are our maalik (boss). We will accept the people’s mandate.”
In Uttar Pradesh, all eyes are on Phulpur and Gorakhpur – the strongholds of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his deputy KP Maurya, which proved a successful test case for the Mayawati-Akhilesh Yadav combine.  The results had set the stage for a united opposition in the state and on a national level.
Akhilesh Yadav is contesting from Azamgarh, a Samajwadi Party stronghold, against the BJP’s Dinesh Lal Yadav. His father Mulayam Singh Yadav had managed to win the seat by a margin of 60,000 votes in 2014, despite a landslide win for the BJP.
In Jharkhand, state minister Chandraprakash Choudhary, former cricketer Kirti Azad and former CM Madhu Koda’s wife Gita are among the 67 candidates whose fate will be sealed in this phase of the elections. Polling is being held in Dhanbad, Giridih, Jamshedpur and Singhbhum, all won by the BJP in 2014.
Congress leader Digvijaya Singh faces the BJP’s Pragya Thakur — an accused in the Malegaon blasts case — in Bhopal today.
 Total voting percentage till 7 pm at 61.14%

West Bengal: 80.16 per cent,Delhi: 56.11 per cent.Haryana: 62.91 per cent.Uttar Pradesh: 53.37 per cent.Bihar: 59.29 per cent. Jharkhand: 64.46 per cent.Madhya Pradesh: 60.40 per cent.
(With Agency Inputs ).


About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>